Loading images... Please wait...

Friday, June 29, 2012

Mojave Desert

          The Mojave Desert occupies a significant portion of southeastern California and smaller parts of central California, southern Nevada, southwestern Utah and northwestern Arizona, in the United States. Named after the Mohave tribe of Native Americans, it displays typical basin and range topography.
          The Mojave Desert receives less than 13 in (330 mm) of rain a year and is generally between 2,000 and 5,000 feet (610 and 1,500 m) in elevation. It contains the lowest and hottest place in North America: Death Valley at 282 feet below sea level; where the temperature often surpasses 120 °F (49 °C) in late July and early August. The Mojave Desert has not historically supported a fire regime because of low fuel loads and connectivity.
          Several large cities can be found in the Mojave Desert, including Lancaster, California and Victorville, California, with the largest being Las Vegas.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

Mojave Desert Mojave Desert Mojave Desert Mojave Desert

Thursday, June 28, 2012


            Prague (Praha) is the capital and largest city of the Czech Republic and fourteenth-largest city in the European Union. Situated in the north-west of the country on the Vltava river, the city is home to about 1.3 million people, while its metropolitan area is estimated to have a population of nearly 2 million. The city has a temperate oceanic climate with warm summers and chilly winters. The city played major roles in the Protestant Reformation, the Thirty Years' War, and in 20th-century history, during both World Wars and the post-war Communist era.
          It is the sixth-most-visited European city after London, Paris, Rome, Madrid and Berlin. The main objectives are: The Prague Castle (Pražský hrad),  Charles Bridge (Karlův most), Church of Our Lady Victorious (Kostel Panny Marie Vítězné), Saint Nicholas Cathedral, Písek Gate (Písecká brána), Petřín Hill with Petřín Lookout Tower (Petřínská rozhledna), Lennon Wall, The Franz Kafka Museum, Wenceslas Square (Václavské náměstí), Milunić and Gehry's Dancing House (Tančící dům),  St Vitus Cathedral (Katedrála svatého Víta) , The Astronomical Clock (Pražský orloj), Jubilee Synagogue (Jubilejní synagoga), Infant Jesus of Prague (Pražské Jezulátko) and Old Town Square.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

dancing house Jubilee Synagogue prague prague

Wednesday, June 27, 2012


           Sheep (Ovis aries) are quadrupedal, ruminant mammals typically kept as livestock. Like all ruminants, sheep are members of the order Artiodactyla, the even-toed ungulates. Although the name "sheep" applies to many species in the genus Ovis, in everyday usage it almost always refers to Ovis aries. Numbering a little over one billion, domestic sheep are also the most numerous species of sheep. Being a key animal in the history of farming, sheep have a deeply entrenched place in human culture, and find representation in much modern language and symbology.
           Domestic sheep are relatively small ruminants, usually with a crimped hair called wool and often with horns forming a lateral spiral. Sheep are exclusively herbivorous mammals. Most breeds prefer to graze on grass and other short roughage, avoiding the taller woody parts of plants that goats readily consume.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

Icelandic sheep sheep sheep sheep

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Acacia trees

            Acacia is a genus of shrubs and trees belonging to the subfamily Mimosoideae of the family Fabaceae. Acacias are also known as thorntrees, whistling thorns or wattles, including the yellow-fever acacia and umbrella acacias. The genus Acacia previously contained roughly 1300 species, about 960 of them native to Australia, with the remainder spread around the tropical to warm-temperate regions of both hemispheres, including Europe, Africa, southern Asia, and the Americas.  
           Acacia seeds are often used for food and a variety of other products. The leaves of acacias are compound pinnate in general. The plants often bear spines, especially those species growing in arid regions. These sometimes represent branches which have become short, hard and pungent, or sometimes leaf-stipules.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

Acacia tree Acacia tree Acacia tree Acacia tree

Monday, June 25, 2012

Baton Rouge

                Baton Rouge is the capital of the U.S. state of Louisiana. It is located in East Baton Rouge Parish and is the second-largest city in the state. Baton Rouge is a major industrial, petrochemical, medical, and research center of the American South. The Port of Baton Rouge is the ninth largest in the United States in terms of tonnage shipped, and is the farthest upstream Mississippi River port capable of handling Panamax ships.  The city has a mix of the cultures found throughout Louisiana, from which it developed its motto: "Authentic Louisiana at every turn".
               As of the census of 2010, there were 229,553 people; per the 2010 census, 88,973 households, and 52,672 families residing in the city. The main buildings are the Capitol, the mormon temple, the Shawcenter, the Planetarium, old governor's mansion and the City Hall.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

Baton Rouge Baton Rouge Baton Rouge Baton Rouge

Mount Everest

              Mount Everest (Chomolungma) is the Earth's highest mountain, with a peak at 8,848 metres (29,029 ft) above sea level. It is located in the Mahalangur section of the Himalayas. The international border between China and Nepal runs across the precise summit point. In 2002, the Chinese People's Daily newspaper published an article making a case against the use of "Mount Everest" for the mountain in English, insisting that it should be referred to as "Mount Qomolangma", based on the local Tibetan name.
              The elevation of 8,848 m (29,029 ft) was first determined by an Indian survey in 1955, made closer to the mountain, also using theodolites. The first succesful ascent of Mt Everest  take place when the New Zealander Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay, a Nepali sherpa climber from Darjeeling, India reached the summit at 11:30 am local time on 29 May 1953.
Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:
Mount Everest Mount Everest Mount Everest Mount Everest

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Oak trees

            An oak is a tree or shrub in the genus Quercus. There are about 600 species of oak trees. The genus is native to the Northern Hemisphere, and includes deciduous and evergreen species extending from cool temperate to tropical latitudes in Asia and the Americas. Oaks have spirally arranged leaves, with lobed margins in many species; some have serrated leaves or entire leaves with smooth margins.  In spring, a single oak tree produces both male flowers (in the form of catkins) and small female flowers.

            Oaks have 2 subgeneres: Quercus and Cyclobalanopsis. Quercus is divided into Lepidobalanus and Leucobalanus (white oaks of Europe and Asia and North America), Mesobalanus (Hungarian oak), cerris (Turkey oak), Protobalanus (Canyon live oak), Lobatae (red oaks of Americas).  Cyclobalanopsis are the ring-cupped oaks of eastern and southeastern Asia.

Click on photos to enlarge the wallpapers:

oak tree oak tree oak tree oak tree